04 天

旅行類型

活動等級

服務級別

遠征巡遊

輕或中度

保費

團體人數

最多15

或致電+33 618847235

西西里島公路旅行計劃員:從卡塔尼亞到墨西拿
沿著美麗的沿海道路行駛,並參觀在美食,神話和溫暖的地中海文化中過去與現在融為一體的城鎮。在西西里島的公路旅行中探索意大利最美麗的島嶼的東海岸,這比大多數小冊子和指南所帶的要深入。

以自己的步調探索西西里島的東部海岸,沿著陽光明媚的高速公路巡遊,欣賞愛奧尼亞海的壯麗景色,並發現該地區迷人過去的隱藏寶石。在整個西西里島公路旅行中,您會隨意走走,並在意大利租車使自己的假期成真。
西里裡郊遊第1天:卡塔尼亞和環島海岸

卡塔尼亞(Catania)是西西里島東海岸的一座宜人的城市,位於北部的墨西拿和南部的錫拉庫扎之間。這裡的遊客將可以欣賞到愛奧尼亞海的壯麗景色。卡塔尼亞省是卡塔尼亞省的首府,也是西西里島的第二大城市,其地質歷史是多事的。在過去的幾個世紀中,該鎮已遭到強烈地震的破壞,由於它靠近活火山埃特納火山(Mount Etna),居民和遊客歷來都對鄰居的烈火保持警惕。然而,今天,卡塔尼亞是一個迷人的海濱城市,是沿著西西里島東海岸開始公路旅行的理想之地。

在卡塔尼亞要做的最好的事情:
卡塔尼亞及其鄰近城鎮有許多令人興奮的事情要做,該地區因其與希臘神話的豐富歷史淵源聯繫而被統稱為獨眼巨人海岸。對於古希臘人來說,獨眼巨人是一眼獨眼的原始巨人的種族,據許多記載,它們曾經居住在西西里島。出於這個原因,到達卡塔尼亞後,您應該首先停下來,這是喬瓦尼·巴蒂斯塔·瓦卡里尼(Giovanni Battista Vaccarini)於1736年組裝的噴泉。噴泉位於大教堂廣場(Piazza del Duomo)上,它由熔岩製成的矮人大象和埃及方尖碑組成,乍一看似乎不合時宜。但是,古生物學家現在知道,西西里島的史前動物區系中有矮象,有些人認為這些象可能是獨眼巨人傳說的起源。在島上,古希臘人發現了大約兩倍於人頭大小的頭骨,上面有一個大洞,他們誤以為是一個巨大的單眼窩。他們沒有意識到這些洞是絕種矮人大象的中央鼻腔,而是推測頭骨是一隻眼睛屬於巨人的。

參觀Fontana dell'Elefante之後,您應該檢查附近的卡塔尼亞市政廳,該廳被稱為Palazzo degli Elefanti或“大象宮殿”。您也將足夠近,可以步行至13世紀為弗雷德里克二世皇帝建造的城堡烏爾西諾城堡。雖然在城市中心塞了一座堡壘似乎有些奇怪,但這座城堡實際上是建在俯瞰大海的懸崖上。多年來,火山噴發,熔岩流和地震的地震活動使這座城堡向內陸移動了近一英里。

儘管卡塔尼亞市很美,但是住在這裡最好的事情之一就是它靠近Aci Trezza和Acireale小鎮,您可以通過租車輕鬆到達。從卡塔尼亞到Aci Trezza,將為您提供美麗,多岩石的海岸和古樸的海港美景,這些海港充滿了五顏六色的小船。在阿奇·特雷扎(Aci Trezza)海岸外,有三個高大的圓柱狀島嶼,稱為“獨眼巨人島”。根據傳說,獨眼巨人波里菲莫斯在他們的旅途中發現了奧德修斯和他的同伴,並開始一個人一個地吃掉它們。然而,奧德修斯成功地使巨人蒙蔽並逃脫了。如今,盲目的獨眼巨人極度憤怒地向奧德修斯扔了巨石,奧德修斯設法逃入了大海而沒有受到打擊。如今,這些岩石賦予了該地區名稱。如果您想近距離欣賞小島,您可以在海岸潛水或浮潛,或者乘船遊覽。該地區的乘船旅行種類繁多。根據您的口味和預算,您可以尋找小型摩托艇,豪華船甚至玻璃底船的遊覽。

如果您驅車前往阿奇雷亞萊(Acireale),請前往大教堂廣場,那裡設有宏偉的聖彼得大教堂。如果您想享受有趣而又有點不同的活動,請進入Chocostore(Corso Umberto 214),這是一家小企業,以所有可能的化身出售巧克力:巧克力棒,巧克力飲料,甚至各種可以想像到的巧克力點心形狀,從高跟鞋到手錶。對於那些想離開市區並回歸自然的遊客來說,阿奇雷亞萊(Acireale)靠近兩個大型公園,即Belvedere別墅和Parco delle Terme公園,以及俯瞰愛奧尼亞海的美麗自然保護區La Timpa。


意大利西西里島,公路旅行第二天:埃特納火山

在西西里島進行的奇妙公路旅行的第二天,您將帶您前往埃特納火山,在西西里東部沿海許多城鎮的掩映下,其火熱的山頂隱約可見。埃特納火山是整個歐洲最高的活火山,也是意大利阿爾卑斯山以南的最高山。古希臘人認為,Typhon是全希臘神話中最大,最可怕的野獸,在戰鬥中被宙斯擊敗,然後宙斯將怪物困在山下。據說,Typhon的埋葬之怒是火山頻繁活動的源頭。

自從在古希臘的輝煌時期首次記錄噴發以來,埃特納火山一直沒有停止向空氣中噴灑灰燼和煙霧,並從火山口溢出熔岩流。開車可以輕鬆地到達埃特納火山,因為開車旅行,您可以到達埃特納火山上各種自然小徑和短途旅行的所有起點。您會根據開車經過的山路,經過不同的步道和名勝古蹟。從卡塔尼亞(Catania)出發,最簡單的方法是開車前往尼科洛西(Nicolosi)鎮並從那裡繼續向上火山,儘管您也可以向北行駛一些,然後從Zafferana Etnea鎮進入。這兩個城鎮都會帶您前往埃特納火山南側的Sapienza避難所,大約12英里車程。

在MT停車。 ETNA:
Sapienza避難所是您開車的好地方。許多遊客將汽車停放在避難所,每小時收費€.80,半天€2.50,整天€4。但是,如果您想節省幾美元,可以在Hotel Corsaro酒店停車;即使您不是客人,他們也提供免費停車,此外,它們還是埃特納半島上最好的住宿之一。如果您需要小吃或想購買紀念品,可以去避難所的餐館或商店之一。從這裡,您可以乘坐纜車或尋找指南,步行即可到達火山的許多火山口。您可以選擇的旅行種類幾乎是無窮無盡的,埃特納火山上的所有旅行不僅受到天氣和當前火山活動的影響,還受到健身水平和冒險意識的影響。埃特納火山的徒步旅行可能會帶您進入火山洞穴,您可以在那裡看到沉睡的蝙蝠,或者到覆蓋著火山岩的寬闊的月球景觀。在冬季,滑雪者湧向Sapienza避難所和Piano Provenzana周圍的山坡。一旦您到達埃特納火山,最終的行程將由您決定,但是幾乎所有參觀過西西里島地區的人都同意埃特納火山是絕對不能錯過的目的地。

意大利西西里島,公路旅行第3天:TAORMINA

在西西里島旅行的下一部分,帶您前往陶爾米納(Taormina),這是一個小而迷人的小鎮,位於卡塔尼亞和墨西拿等大城市之間。它坐落在海拔650英尺的蒙特陶羅(Monte Tauro)山坡上,靜靜地俯瞰愛奧尼亞海。小鎮雖然很小,但卻是Sicels,重要的西西里島,古希臘人和羅馬人居住的斜體,西西里島的重要定居地。如今,有許多景點和活動為您的陶爾米納出租汽車留下難忘的回憶。

當您在陶爾米納停留時看到的第一景點是歌劇院。劇院是西西里島最著名的廢墟之一,保存完好,依sn在迷人的位置。這是對古希臘和古羅馬歷史的一瞥。建築中使用的磚塊可追溯到羅馬帝國的現有結構,但設計表明它是在希臘劇院的基礎上重建的。劇院是西西里島第二大劇院,儘管建於公元前七世紀,但其精心設計使其至今仍可用於音樂會,歌劇和戲劇表演。

如果您是烹飪愛好者,或者只是美食愛好者,那麼,在陶爾米納市中心的Il Nettuno餐廳學習烹飪三道菜的西西里美食,沒有比這更好的了。好吧,也許還有一件更好的事情:做飯後,用當地的葡萄酒品嚐美味佳餚!五小時的烹飪課程由專業廚師指導,不僅會教您準備西西里美食,而且還將帶您到當地市場,並揭示選擇最新鮮,最美味食材的秘密。對於那些希望學習可以帶回家的東西並在離開西西里島曬日光浴的鄉村很長時間之後使用的遊客來說,本課程非常適合。

儘管陶爾米納鎮本身隨時都有美麗的風景,但是如果您希望將“風景”提升到“令人嘆為觀止的風景”,那麼您應該在鎮外驅車前往Castelmola的城堡遺址。有冒險精神的遊客如果想進行嚴重的爬坡,可以沿著¾英里長的小徑跋涉前往城堡。路徑維護得不好,但全景十分壯觀,值得您努力。對於那些不想走路的人,幸運的是,乘出租汽車旅行非常容易。從陶爾米納(Taormina)到卡斯泰莫拉(Castelmola)的道路蜿蜒曲折,蜿蜒曲折,您可以將車停在廢墟外幾分鐘的公共場所。在古老的Castello Normanno的牆壁上穿進和穿出,將為您提供360度的山脈,天空和大海全景。這座城堡建於1072年,儘管進行了大規模的修復工作,使該建築的某些部分恢復了其古老的突出地位,但使這次旅行值得的不一定是城堡本身,而是使城堡的美麗無縫融合到了城堡中。周圍的自然美景。

最後,陶爾米納(Taormina)是您散佈和放鬆身心的理想場所。伊索拉貝拉島(Isola Bella)實際上是個“美麗的島嶼”,是一個小型自然保護區,通常可以通過一條狹窄的小路從大陸海灘進入。伊索拉貝拉島(Isola Bella)也被稱為愛奧尼亞海的明珠,自1990年以來一直是西西里島的財產。該島雖小,但歷史卻很有趣。 1860年,費迪南德一世國王將島交給陶爾米納鎮,但後來特雷維揚女士從鎮上買下了該島,特雷維揚女士架起了一間小房子,並進口了許多在地中海氣候中繁衍生息的外來植物。隨後的所有者維護著房屋和島嶼,直到一個所有者破產並在1990年被迫拍賣該島嶼。當您訪問該島嶼時,請務必尋找許多鳥類和蜥蜴,這些鳥類和蜥蜴將這個小地方稱為家,然後在卵石鋪成的小海灘上曬日光浴,那裡是日光浴者的熱門目的地。



意大利西西里島,公路旅行第4天:墨西拿

墨西拿(Messina)市位於西西里島(Sicily)島的東北角,處在永久被意大利靴子踢倒的狀態。墨西拿(Messina)的港口一直延伸到墨西拿(Messina)海峽,這座城市因其自然的彎曲形狀而得名,最初用希臘語“鐮刀”(Scythe)命名為Zancle。在漫長而動蕩的歷史中,這座城市又因交戰的文明,自然災害和黑死病而遭受摧殘,但如今,這座繁華的港口城市以其令人嘆為觀止的建築,葡萄酒生產以及檸檬,橙子和橄欖而聞名耕種,所有這些都是您應該在西西里島旅途中最後停留的原因。

儘管墨西拿就坐落在美麗的愛奧尼亞海岸上,但是在狹窄的墨西拿海峽游泳仍然很危險。希臘人把海峽的兇猛,與海流相撞的神話化,就像海怪Charybdis(漩渦)和六頭野獸Scyla。但是,不用擔心!僅僅因為您不會畏懼海峽,並不意味著您將很難在這個生機勃勃的城市中找到與您的墨西拿租車有關的東西。首先,您絕對應該在墨西拿大教堂(Cathedral of Messina)停留。諾曼大教堂在1783年和1908年的兩次地震中被嚴重破壞,第二次世界大戰中燃燒著一顆炸彈,此後已完全修復,其內部和外部美景使其成為您旅途中必看的景點。避難所比許多天主教大教堂都要簡單,但是在這個大教堂的情況下,這簡直增加了高高的天花板,白色的柱子和宗教繪畫的宏偉。這座大教堂始建於12世紀,現在保存著幾位傑出人物的遺體,例如13世紀的康拉德四世,德國國王和西西里島以及許多大主教。

大教堂旁邊是Orologio Astronomico,鐘樓和天文鐘。它由斯特拉斯堡的Ungerer公司於1933年建造,至今仍是世界上最大的天文鐘之一。時鐘標誌著月亮的時間和相位,如果您在中午十點或十五分鐘到達,您可以觀看每日表演,其中包括機械動畫的獅子咆哮和公雞啼叫,因為它們說明了該鎮民間和宗教歷史上的事件。其他值得一看的重要建築是卡塔拉尼Annunziata dei Catalani教堂,其美麗的圓頂建築展現出阿拉伯的影響力; Santa Maria Degli Alemanni教堂,這是西西里島純哥特式建築的罕見例子。在此區域內時,請確保檢查出雄偉的獵戶座噴泉。噴泉和諧,交響且優雅,上面雕刻著精美的雕刻,以向獵戶獵戶座的勝利致敬,獵戶座對希臘人是這座城市神話般的創始人。它由米開朗基羅的弟子喬瓦尼·安吉洛·蒙托索利(Giovanni Angelo Montorsoli)雕刻而成,建於1553年,以慶祝墨西拿第一條渡槽的建造。

當它建成時,獵戶座噴泉是當時最高和最大的噴泉,蒙托索利很快受命雕刻也建在墨西拿的海王星噴泉。雖然從大教堂到海王星噴泉只有幾步之遙,但如果有時間,還是值得一遊的。這幅美麗的雕塑描繪了海王星祝福墨西拿市的故事。

對於藝術愛好者來說,墨西拿的小型但令人印象深刻的藝術博物館-當代墨西拿美術館(Galleria d'Arte Contemporanea di Messina)是合乎邏輯的。博物館由考古,中世紀藝術,文藝復興時期的藝術和金匠的不同部分組成,所有這些部分都在中央庭院周圍的14個不同房間中展出。尤為重要的是意大利文藝復興時期活躍的畫家安東內洛·達·墨西拿(Antonello da Messina)的作品,他最初來自墨西拿,而世界著名畫家卡拉瓦喬的畫作對他的去世後的巴洛克繪畫產生了形成性影響。

04 DAYS

Trip Type

Activity Level

Service Level

Road Trip

Light or Moderate

Premium

Group Size

Max 15

or call +91 9886098933

SICILY ROAD TRIP PLANNER: CATANIA TO MESSINA
Drive along beautiful coastal roads and visit towns in which the past and the present come together in the food, the mythologies, and the warm Mediterranean culture. Explore the eastern coast of Italy's finest island on a Sicily road trip that takes you deeper than what you'll see in most brochures and guides.

Discover Sicily's eastern coast at your own pace, cruising along sunny highways with breathtaking views of the Ionian Sea and uncovering hidden gems from the area's fascinating past. Throughout this Sicily road trip, you'll come and go as you please and make your vacation what you want it to be with a rental car in Italy.
SICILY ROAD TRIP DAY 1: CATANIA AND THE CYCLOPS COAST
     
Catania is a delightful city on the eastern coast of Sicily, located about halfway between Messina to the north and Syracuse to the south. Visitors here will be treated to breathtaking views of the Ionian Sea. The capital of the Province of Catania and the second-largest city in Sicily, Catania's geological history is eventful; the town has been destroyed over the centuries by powerful earthquakes and, due to its proximity to the active volcano Mount Etna, residents and visitors have historically been wary of its neighbor's fiery temper. Today, however, Catania is a charming seaside city that is the perfect place to begin a road trip along Sicily's eastern shores.
 
BEST THINGS TO DO IN CATANIA:
There are many exciting things to do in Catania and its neighboring towns, an area collectively referred to as The Cyclops Coast because of its ties to the rich, historical tapestry of Greek mythology. For the Ancient Greeks, the Cyclopes were a race of one-eyed primordial giants that, according to many accounts, once populated the island of Sicily. For that reason, upon your arrival in Catania, you should first stop at the Fontana dell' Elefante, a fountain assembled in 1736 by Giovanni Battista Vaccarini. Located in the Piazza del Duomo, the fountain, which consists of a dwarf elephant made of lava stone topped by an Egyptian obelisk, might at first seem out of place in Sicily. However, paleontologists now know that the prehistoric fauna of Sicily included dwarf elephants, and some believe that these elephants may be the origin of the legend of the Cyclops. On the island, the Ancient Greeks discovered skulls about twice the size of a human head with a large hole that they mistook for an enormous, single eye-socket. Instead of understanding that these holes were the central nasal cavities of extinct dwarf elephants, they speculated that the skulls had belonged to giants with a single eye.

After visiting the Fontana dell' Elefante, you should check out the nearby Catania Town Hall, which has been dubbed the Palazzo degli Elefanti, or "The Palace of the Elephants." You'll also be close enough to walk to Castello Ursino, a castle built for Emperor Frederick II during the thirteenth century. Though it may seem strange to have a fortress tucked in the heart of a city, the castle was actually built on a cliff overlooking the sea. Over the years, the seismic activity of volcanic eruptions, lava flows, and earthquakes have moved the castle nearly a mile inland.

Although the city of Catania is beautiful, one of the best things about staying here is its proximity to the small towns of Aci Trezza and Acireale, which will be easily accessible in your rental car. Driving from Catania to Aci Trezza will offer you stunning views of beautiful, rocky coast and a quaint harbor filled with colorful boats. Off the coast of Aci Trezza are three tall, column-shaped islands known as the isole dei ciclopi, the "islands of the Cyclopes." According to legend, the Cyclops Polyphemus caught Odysseus and his companions during their great journey and began eating them one by one. Odysseus, however, succeeded in blinding the giant and escaped. In a rage, the now-blind Cyclops threw huge rocks at Odysseus, who managed to escape into the sea without being struck. Today, these rocks give the region its name. If you want to see the isole up close, you can dive or snorkel off the coast or take a boat trip. The boat trips in the area are many and varied; depending on your taste and budget, you can look for tours in smaller motorboats, luxury boats, or even glass-bottomed boats.

If you drive to Acireale, check out the Piazza Duomo, which houses the magnificent St. Peter's Basilica. If you feel like enjoying an activity that's fun and a little different, pop into Chocostore (Corso Umberto 214), a small business that sells chocolate in all its possible incarnations: chocolate bars, chocolate drinks, and even chocolate treats that come in every imaginable shape, from high-heeled shoes to watches. For those visitors that like to get out of the city and back to nature, Acireale is close to two large public parks, Villa Belvedere and Parco delle Terme, as well as La Timpa, a beautiful natural reserve overlooking the Ionian Sea.
 

SICILY, ITALY, ROAD TRIP DAY 2: MOUNT ETNA
     
The second day of your fantastic road trip in Sicily takes you to Mount Etna, whose fiery summit looms in the background of many towns along the eastern Sicilian coast. Etna is the tallest active volcano in all of Europe and the highest mountain in Italy south of the Alps. The Ancient Greeks believed that Typhon, the largest and most fearsome beast in all of Greek mythology, was defeated in battle by Zeus, who then trapped the monster under the mountain. Typhon's buried rage was said to be the source of the volcano's frequent activity.

Since its first recorded eruption during the glory days of Ancient Greece, Mount Etna hasn't ceased throwing ash and smoke into the air and spilling lava flows from its craters. Having a car makes visiting Mount Etna a breeze because, going by car, you can reach all the starting points of the varied nature trails and excursions on Mount Etna. You pass different trails and points of interest depending on the side of the mountain you drive up. Leaving from Catania, it is easiest to drive to the town of Nicolosi and continue up the volcano from there, although you could also drive a bit farther north and enter from the town of Zafferana Etnea. Both towns lead you to a roughly 12-mile drive to the Sapienza Refuge on the south side of Mount Etna.
 
PARKING AT MT. ETNA:
The Sapienza Refuge is a great place to leave your car. Many visitors park their cars at the refuge for €.80 an hour, €2.50 for a half day, or €4 for the whole day. However, if you want to save a few dollars, park at Hotel Corsaro; they offer free parking even if you aren't a guest, and in addition, they're one of the best places to stay in Etna. If you need a snack or would like to buy a souvenir, you can duck into one of the restaurants or shops at the refuge. From here, you can take a cable car or find a guide to take you on foot to get closer to the volcano's many craters. The variety of tours you can choose from is nearly endless, and all tours on Mount Etna are affected by not only the weather and current volcanic activity, but also your fitness level and your sense of adventure. A walking tour of Mount Etna might take you into volcanic caves, where you can see slumbering bats, or to a wide, lunar landscape covered in volcanic rocks. During the winter, skiers flock to the slopes around the Sapienza Refuge and the Piano Provenzana. Once you're on Mount Etna, the kind of tour you take is ultimately up to you, but nearly everyone who has visited this region of Sicily agrees that Mount Etna is an absolutely can't-miss destination.

 

SICILY, ITALY, ROAD TRIP DAY 3: TAORMINA
     
The next part of your road trip through Sicily takes you to Taormina, a small yet charming town located about halfway between the larger cities of Catania and Messina. Its sits, calmly overlooking the Ionian Sea, about 650 feet above sea level on the hillside of Monte Tauro. Though small, the town was an important settlement for the Sicels, the Italic tribe that gave Sicily the name it's had since antiquity, and the Ancient Greeks and Romans. Today, there are many sites and activities that make for an unforgettable stay with your Taormina rental car.

The number one site to see when you stop in Taormina is the Teatro Greco. One of the most celebrated ruins in all of Sicily, the theater is remarkably preserved and snuggled in a stunning location. It is a glimpse into the pasts of both Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome; the bricks used in its construction date the current structure to the Roman Empire, but the design suggests it was rebuilt upon the foundations of a Greek theater. The theater is the second-largest of its kind on the island of Sicily, and although it was built in the seventh century B.C., its meticulous design allows it to be used even today for concerts, operas, and theatrical performances.

If you're a fan of cooking--or just a fan of good food--nothing could be better than learning to cook a three-course Sicilian meal at Il Nettuno Restaurant in central Taormina. Well, there might be one thing that's even better: savoring the delectable dishes with samples of local wine after you're done cooking! The five-hour cooking class is led by a professional chef who will not only teach you to prepare Sicilian dishes, but will also take you to a local market and reveal secrets to selecting the freshest, most flavorful ingredients. This class is perfect for those visitors looking to learn something they can take home with them and use long after they've left Sicily's sunbaked countryside.

Although the town of Taormina itself has scenic views at every turn, if you're looking to take "scenic views" to the level of "breathtaking views," you should take a drive just outside the town to the castle ruins in Castelmola. Adventurous visitors in the mood for a serious uphill climb can trek up the ¾-mile-long path to the castle; the path isn't well-maintained, but the panoramic views are spectacular and worth the effort. For those who don't want to walk, it's fortunately very easy to travel by rental car. A well-paved road winds lazily from Taormina to Castelmola, and you can park your car in a public lot just a few minutes outside the ruins. Ducking into and out of the walls of the ancient Castello Normanno will give you 360-degree panoramas of mountain, sky, and sea. The castle was built in 1072, and although extensive restoration work has brought some parts of the structure back to its ancient prominence, what makes this trip worthwhile is not necessarily the castle itself, but rather the beauty of the castle that so seamlessly melts into the natural beauty that surrounds it.

Finally, Taormina has the perfect place for you to spread out and relax. Isola Bella, literally "beautiful island," is a small nature reserve that is often accessible from the mainland beach by means of a narrow path. Also known as The Pearl of the Ionian Sea, Isola Bella has only been the property of Sicily since 1990. The island is tiny, but its history is interesting. In 1860, King Ferdinand I gave the island to the town of Taormina, but the island was later bought from the town by a Ms. Trevelyan, who erected a small house and imported a number of exotic plants that thrived in the Mediterranean climate. Subsequent owners maintained the house and the island until one owner went bankrupt and was forced to auction the island off in 1990. When you visit the island, be sure to look for the many species of birds and lizards that call the tiny area their home, and then bask in the warm sun on the small, pebbled beach that is a popular destination for sunbathers.



SICILY, ITALY, ROAD TRIP DAY 4: MESSINA
     
The city of Messina, on the northeast corner of the island of Sicily, is caught in the state of perpetually being kicked by Italy's boot. Messina's harbor arches out into the Strait of Messina, and the city was originally named Zancle, from the Greek word for "scythe," due to its natural curved shape. Throughout its long and tumultuous history, the city has in turn been ravaged by warring civilizations, natural disasters, and the Black Plague, but today, the bustling port city is known for its breathtaking architecture, wine production, and lemon, orange, and olive cultivation, which are all reasons that it should be the final stop on your road trip in Sicily.

Although Messina sits right on the beautiful Ionian Coast, swimming is dangerous in the narrow Strait of Messina. The Greeks mythologized the strait's fierce, clashing currents as the sea monsters Charybdis, the whirlpool, and Scylla, the six-headed beast. However, don't worry! Just because you won't be braving the strait doesn't mean you'll have a hard time finding things to do with your Messina rental car in this lively city. To begin, you should definitely stop by the Cathedral of Messina. Severely damaged by two earthquakes in 1783 and 1908 and an incendiary bomb in WWII, the Norman cathedral has since been fully restored, and it's interior and exterior beauty make it a must-see on your trip. The sanctuary is simpler than many Catholic cathedrals, but in the case of this duomo, this simply adds to the grandeur of the high ceilings, white columns, and religious paintings. This cathedral, originally built in the 12th Century, now holds the remains of several remarkable men, such as Conrad IV, King of Germany and Sicily in the 13th Century, and many archbishops.

Alongside the cathedral sits the Orologio Astronomico, the Bell Tower and Astronomical Clock. Built-in 1933 by the Ungerer Company of Strasbourg, it is still one of the largest astronomical clocks in the world. The clock marks the time and the phases of the moon, and if you arrive ten or fifteen minutes before noon, you can catch the daily show that includes mechanically-animated lions roaring and roosters crowing as they illustrate events from the town's civil and religious history. Other significant structures worth visiting are the Church of the Annunziata dei Catalani, whose beautiful domed architecture reveals Arabic influences, and the Church of Santa Maria Degli Alemanni, which is a rare example of pure Gothic architecture in Sicily. While you're in this area, make sure you check out the magnificent Fountain of Orion. Harmonious, symphonic, and elegant, the fountain is rich in fine carvings that pay homage to the triumph of Orion, the giant huntsman that was, for the Greeks, the mythical founder of the city. Sculpted by Giovanni Angelo Montorsoli, a disciple of Michelangelo's, it was built in 1553 to celebrate the construction of Messina's first aqueduct.

When it was erected, the Fountain of Orion was the tallest and largest of its day, and Montorsoli was soon commissioned to sculpt the Fountain of Neptune, which was also erected in Messina. Although it is a bit of a walk from the duomo to the Fountain of Neptune, if you have time, it's worth a trip to see the beautiful sculpture that depicts the god Neptune blessing the city of Messina.

For art lovers, the Galleria d'Arte Contemporanea di Messina, Messina's small but impressive art museum, is a logical stop. The museum consists of different sections that include archaeology, medieval art, Renaissance art, and goldsmithing, all exhibited in 14 different rooms around a central courtyard. Of particular importance are the works by Antonello da Messina, a painter active during the Italian Renaissance who was originally from Messina, and the paintings of Caravaggio, the world-renowned artist who exercised formative influence on Baroque painting after his death.

Secure payment

Inspirational travel offers

Best discounts

Handpicked Luxury Travel Offers

Exclusive prices and exceptional
discounts of up to 70%

Our experts are here to help

A reliable and responsive customer service

  • iconfinder_Colored_Facebook3_svg_5365678
  • iconfinder_1_Twitter_colored_svg_5296514
  • YouTube
  • iconfinder_1_Pinterest_colored_svg_52965
  • iconfinder_1_Instagram_colored_svg_1_529
  • VK
© Copyright 2017 - 2020 Triploves, Inc